---
updatedAt: 2026-07-16T20:55:08.000Z
---

# Users | PRA Cloud

## Who are users?

Privileged Remote Access users are people in your organization, such as IT representatives or Help Desk representatives, who use Privileged Remote Access to actively aid other people and troubleshoot issues within your organization via access sessions.

A user consumes one Privileged Remote Access license.

### What are "extended availability" users?

If extended availability mode is enabled in your Privileged Remote Access instance, your users can enable it on their accounts so they can share sessions even when they are not using the Desktop user Console.

> ℹ️
>
> Enabling extended availability mode consumes an additional license.

## What is the Users tab?

The **Users** tab provides a snapshot of, and communication with, all signed-in users within Privileged Remote Access.

## How is it useful to my organization?

You can view who is in an access session, a user's license type and license pool, send your users a message, and terminate a user's access to the Privileged Remote Access console.

## How do I access the Users tab?

1. Use a Chromium-based browser to sign in to your Privileged Remote Access URL.\
   This URL is provided in the BeyondTrust welcome email and includes your site URL followed by **/login**.\
   The **Status** page displays with the **Information** tab open by default.
2. At the top of the **Status** page, click **Users**.\
   The **Users** tab displays.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/005ce961dd62c867eb670f0adb24b1ed68effbec73e2fa9f4845043a653c25bd-cloud_users_add.png",
        "",
        ""
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

## View your logged-in users

1. From the **Users** tab, in the **Logged in users** section, review your users and their details:
   * **Display Name:** The name shown to the person receiving help in an access session.
   * **Username:** The user's name they use to sign in to Privileged Remote Access.
   * **In Support Session: Yes** if the user is currently in an active Privileged Remote Access session; **No** if the user is not in an active Privileged Remote Access session.
   * **License type:** The license assigned to the user.
   * **Logged in since:** The date and time stamp of the user's latest log in.

## View your extended availability users

If you enable extended availability in Privileged Remote Access, users can opt to enable extended availability mode. Those who do can share sessions when they are not using the Desktop Access Console.

1. From the **Users** tab, in the **Extended Availability users** section, review the list of users who have enabled their extended availability mode:
   * **Display Name:** The name shown to the person receiving help in an access session.
   * **Username:**   The user's name they use to sign in to Privileged Remote Access.
   * **License type:** The license assigned to the user.
   * **License pool:** The license pool from which the extended availability license is pulling.

## Disable a user's extended availability

Disabling an extended availability mode from a user means they can no longer share sessions. Their extended availability license is released back into the license pool, and can be consumed by a different user.

1. From the **Users** tab, in the **Extended Availability users** section, locate the user you want to disable from extended availability.
2. Click **Disable**.\
   A confirmation message displays.
3. Click **Yes**.\
   The user's extended availability is disabled immediately and the license is released back into the license pool.

## Terminate a user's connection to the Desktop Access Console

> ℹ️
>
> Terminating a user's connection signs them out of the Desktop Access Console and ends any active sessions. This does not delete a user or block access from Privileged Remote Access, but the user must sign in again.

1. From the **Users** tab, in the **Logged in users** section, locate the user name of the user whose Desktop Access Console connection you wish to terminate.

2. Click **Terminate**.\
   A confirmation message displays.

[block:image]{"images":[{"image":["https://files.readme.io/07635b8c6a734f169bbae23562eb8bdca0279119d403909a500df9ec061c0006-PF_Terminate.png","",""],"align":"center","border":true}]}[/block]

3. Click **Yes**.\
   The user is immediately signed out from the Privileged Remote Access console. If they were in a session, the session terminates immediately.

## Send a message to logged-in users

> ℹ️
>
> Messages are only visible to your Privileged Remote Access users, and not to those they may be assisting at the time of the message.

1. From the **Users** tab, in the **Send Message to users** section, enter up to 256 characters.
2. Click **Send**.\
   The message sends immediately, and users in the Desktop Access Console receive it as a pop-up message.